Anticipation

Your naked hand meets mine in a full embrace.

The digits intertwine and press the bare flesh of our palms together,

Then withdraw as nails lightly touch the plump heel

Suddenly pressing in like sharp glass,

Collapsing and curling up in my enclosing fist,

Your challenge and surrender.

Like a flower, it opens to accept the knuckles

That push in the extended forefinger

To trace patterns in the lifeline and circles in its territory like a dog.

I lick the path the finger followed,

And suck the thumb with open lips

And clenched teeth that softly bite.

You pull my hand to your face to do the same,

Mouth so wet and inviting.

Your eyes are glazed and closing,

The half parted lips are trembling.

I move towards your face with mine.

Time stops.

I kiss your open lips open.

Leave a comment